Winter Wonderland

I cannot believe how cold it’s been here in Boston! I guess I should’ve expected this–I mean, it IS Boston–but that wonderfully frigid, ice-cold brain-numbing bones-freezing feeling never ceases to shock me. But… all complaining aside, I do admit that it’s a nice change for a sun-sheltered SoCal girl. The snow is pretty as it sparkles in the sun, and for some reason I find the light footprints charming.ย 

Image

While we’re admiring the winter season, let’s reminisce about Christmas again, shall we? Mmm oh the cheer, the family and friends, the warmth of hot chocolate and glitter of Christmas lights hanging from frosted rooftops; it’s hard to not miss the glow, isn’t it?ย 

One of my first Christmas cookie recipes was my Peppermint Sugar Cookie recipe! Honestly, I was a bit surprised that people enjoyed them so much, given the simplicity and quickness the production took. Can’t complain, though! I’m so humbled that people love them so much ^_^ And I surely don’t mind making them!

Image

My friend Ken, who took this picture, was the first to sample the cookies a couple years ago. I gave him half a batch–which turned out to be a LOT of cookies–after he loved the first bite, and the next day he came to me with the two empty containers asking for more. Apparently he and a guest had demolished them that very night. Wow, talk about flattery!

I make them over and over to this day since they’re such an easy crowd pleaser! Theses are easy to make with friends and family helping, too! I would recommend using a silicone cookie sheet because the peppermint pieces melt and it can prove difficult to un-stick them post-baking. Also, for the same reason, I wouldn’t recommend shaping these–they expand and don’t become the shape you want them to be. (I’m talking from experience, hehe.)

Nom nom nom! Get back into that holiday spirit and bake away!

Peppermint Sugar Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5-8 Candy Canes

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375ยฐF. Unwrap candy canes and put them in a large Ziploc bag and wrap the bag in a towel. With a mallet or meat tenderizer, crush the candy canes into small pieces, smaller than chocolate chip size.
  2. In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients. Stir in the candy cane pieces until well-distributed.ย 
  4. Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of the dough into balls and place on the cookie sheets.
  5. Bake 8-10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden. Let stand on cookie sheet for two minutes before removing to cool on a wire rack.ย 

DId you make them? Let me know how they turned out!

<3 syd

One thought on “Winter Wonderland

Leave a Reply

